TIDINGS

ARS presents PSHA to Gail Nickless, EMA presents Binkley Award to Rotem and Adam Gilbert

Nickless to receive ARS Presidential Special Honor Award

At a September 18 reception during **RecorderFest in the West**, to be held in Denver, CO, September 18-21, ARS President **Laura Kuhlman** will present **Gail Nickless** with the American Recorder Society's **Presidential Special Honor Award** (PSHA). This award honors a person who has had a significant positive impact within a community—in this case, in the recorder community in general. Nickless's career eminently qualifies her for the PSHA. A recorder and flute player who holds two music degrees from Texas Tech University, she was also on the university's administrative staff in the School of Music and later in the activities office where she advised student volunteers charged with organizing and presenting the campus's artists and speakers series. She has served on a half-dozen boards

ARS Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

The ARS Distinguished Achievement Award was set up by the Board in 1986 to recognize and honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the development of the recorder movement in North America.

Friedrich von Huene 1987 Bernard Krainis 1989 Shelley Gruskin 1991 Nobuo Toyama 1994 LaNoue Davenport 1995 Martha Bixler 1996 Edgar Hunt 1997 Eugene Reichenthal 1999 Frans Brüggen 2001 Valerie Horst 2002 Pete Rose 2005

Marion Verbruggen 2006 Anthony Rowland–Jones 2007 Ken Wollitz 2009 David Lasocki 2011 Bernard Thomas 2013 Members are invited to send a Distinguished Achievement Award nomination, along with the reasons for nominating that individual, at any time for consideration by the Board.

ARS Presidential Special Honor Award Recipients

Established in 2003, this award—given at the ARS President's discretion, and approved and voted on by the ARS Board—honors a person or group that has made significant contributions to their own community that have had a ripple effect throughout the larger recorder world.

David Goldstein 2003 Carolyn Peskin 2005 Marie–Louise Smith 2005 Connie Primus 2006 Joel Newman 2007 Shirley Robbins 2007 Corlu Collier & Oregon Coast Recorder Society 2009 Louise Austin 2011 Peter Seibert 2012 Gail Nickless 2014



over the years, applying her communication and administrative staff skills as well as that volunteer background to her activities within the ARS.

Nickless entered the domain of the ARS in 1994 as its Executive Director. Her first task was to settle the ARS office into its new headquarters in Denver—while simultaneously moving there herself from Texas.

As the Society's only full-time employee, she performed any tasks necessary to the operation of the ARS, from database entry to bringing greetings to several thousand American Orff-Schulwerk Association members during one of their annual meetings (where she became known as "the recorder lady"). She regularly represented the ARS at the AOSA conferences, manning a booth there as well as at early music festivals in Boston, MA, and Berkeley, CA—events for which she now coordinates reports for *AR*.

In 2002 she became editor of *American Recorder*, a position in which she still serves. Her *de facto* staff in her Denver-area home office includes husband Wayne and son Nick.

The ARS thanks Nickless for two decades of dedicated service to the recorder community.